Foundation Stage
 In our EYFS class, we focus on developing the 3 prime areas first although this depends on the needs of the child. These are:
– Communication and language;
– Physical development; and
– Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:
– Literacy;
– Mathematics;
– Understanding the world; and
– Expressive arts and design.

Reading and Spelling Development
Children are introduced to phonics which support reading, writing and spelling through the use of ‘Jolly Phonics’ and the Department for Education’s ‘Letters and Sounds’ programme. To continue to develop spelling skills in older children, we use our own scheme of work based on the National Curriculum expectations and an approach using a range of effective strategies for the teaching of spelling. The school using the ‘Accelerated Reader’ programme to support children’s reading development after children are able to blend words effectively and know a number of ‘tricky words’ that don’t follow a phonetic pattern.  the ‘Accelerated Reader’ programme usually begins in Year 1, or in Year 2 at the latest.  Reading development is backed up with taught lessons that focus on specific skills.  Teachers diagnose what to teach and at what stage with help from ‘Accelerated Reader’ and through their use of a good range of assessment for learning strategies.

Click here for ‘Letters and Sounds’ resources and activities to support parents and carers at home.

There are three “core” subjects in the National Curriculum: English, Mathematics and Science. Computing is taught to all children as a discrete subject yet linked to other areas being taught in the class so therefore integrated into most subjects.

Staff ensure that a broad and balanced curriculum is taught, which includes all the foundation subjects: Art & Design, Modern Foreign Languages (French), Design Technology, Geography, History, Computing, Music, PE and  PSHCE (Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education).  Religious Education is also taught regularly throughout school.  Coverage is managed via our long term plans – these can be viewed below.

Long term plans

Click here to see the curriculum coverage for the Early Years Foundation Stage (although often this can change as it is led by the children’s interests).

Click here to download our long term planning document for Key Stages 1 and 2.  This contains information about how we meet our the requirements of the National Curriculum for all subjects with the exception of English and Maths (please see below).

Please find guidance below to help you understand the government and school expectations for our children. We hope you find this helpful.
The following two booklets show what children should be able to do by the end of Year 2 in reading, writing, maths and science to achieve the nationally expected standard.

As stated in the document,

Each of the three standards within the interim framework contains a number of ‘pupil can’ statements. To demonstrate that they have met a standard within this interim framework, teachers will need to have evidence that a pupil demonstrates consistent attainment of all of the statements within that standard and all the statements in the preceding standard(s).’

Teacher Assessment Framework Key Stage 1

Contains guidance for reading, writing, maths and science

Teacher Assessment Framework Key Stage 2

Contains guidance for writing and science

Pitch and Expectation in Maths
The Local Authority have produced the following booklet to show expectations in maths for years 1-6 with examples for each area.

Year 1 Expectations and examples 

Year 2 Expectations and examples 

Year 3 Expectations and examples

Year 4 Expectations and examples

Year 5 Expectations and examples

Year 6 Expectations and examplesSave